My Ideal Reader

Imagining my ideal reader didn’t come easily for me. In the years I’ve maintained a blog, my reading audience has always been an ever changing surprise. Younger girls still in high school who won’t listen to their parents would read my long posts about my adult life. Happily married men would read along with their wives about my making new friends, meeting new men, and such. Born-again Christians and New Age Pagans alongside homosexual, pansexual, asexual readers. There seemed to be no focused demographic that I could discern.

My ideal reader, however, would not be classified by such external labels as race or gender, life or lifestyle. Instead, I would love to have readers who actively engage with my blog posts (and not merely when I first read and/or respond on their blog posts). I would like readers who are willing to make a commitment, even if such a commitment moves them outside a personal comfort zone, while having an enthusiasm for trying new things.

I suppose, when it comes right down to it, my ideal reader would be in a place of transition, possibly unhappy and feeling stuck or excited and eager to make some changes. Benjamin Franklin once said, “Without continual growth and progress, such words as improvement, achievement, and success have no meaning.” My ideal reader would be ready to find that meaning, to define it, to refine it, and live life accordingly.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

