Why I’m Here and Why Now

“You should do an online journal.”

I snorted. “Why?”

“I think people would read it.”

“Why would anyone want to read about my life?”

“You’d be surprised.”

At the time, it seemed a silly idea but I took on the challenge and, over time, came to appreciate the act of keeping a blog. The first post was made in November, 1999. It’s hard to believe I’ve been keeping a blog, more or less, for nearly 15 years now.

So why am I taking the Blogging 101 course? I have experience, right? I know what I’m doing, don’t I? Well, yes and no. For one thing, on my regular blog, I have become sporadic in my posting. Since coming home from a trip to London, especially, my posts have been few and far between. Also, I have been thinking about writing a series of posts that would focus on a specific topic rather than about my daily life.

Taking the Blogging 101 challenge seemed like the ideal opportunity for me to lay a foundation for what I have planned for my blogging in 2015. I’ve been gathering resources and ideas, brainstorming and making notes along the way. It’s not that I will give up on general blogging, sharing my life. I love doing that and it is easy. And sometimes we become complacent with things that are easy. I want to push myself beyond my comfort zone, to share my passion for journaling and how a journaling practice becomes a powerful tool towards self-reflection and self-awareness, to share what I love with others.

This feels like the right time for me to shift my focus and make room for something new. I’m ready for change. I’m even welcoming it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

